Sunday 14 April 2024
Select a region

Cyclocross season draws to a spectacular close

Cyclocross season draws to a spectacular close

Friday 23 February 2024

Cyclocross season draws to a spectacular close

Friday 23 February 2024

A new venue with fresh challenges hosted the final round of the Cycleworld Cyclocross series.

Wet and chilly conditions, and a herd of cows, greeted the riders at Blanchelande College and the warm up laps gave everyone a chance to get used to the varied terrain.

The course designers took advantage of the different surfaces around the site to provide a fast and flowing lap which tested bike handling and legs through muddy fields and up tarmac climbs over eight laps.

Overall race winner Zach Smith made light work of the circuit putting in an impressive performance to finish in 52:02, over a minute ahead of the rest of the field. The academy rider secured the Under-14 title while also tying points for overall Youth winner with the absent Charlie Tourtel.

Senior honours went to Dave Fairbrother who was delighted with second place in the race and his fourth consecutive category win. Mark Smith took the final spot on the podium, wrapping up the Grand Veteran category title ahead of Mark Naftel who came home seventh.

The Senior series was sewn up by Nathaniel Jones who scored his best result of the season with fourth, easing to the title ahead of James Marshall (6th). Simon Francart came home eighth with the Veteran 40 series already in the bag from the previous round.

Esther Reid completed a perfect score of 180 points and a sixth consecutive category win, continuing to improve taking a series best 11th place in the race.

Andy Godfrey battled his way to 13th and the Veteran 60 title for the second year running.

In the Mountain bike category, race winner Adam Torode made up good ground on the CX bikes despite the handicap of a delayed start, finishing in fifth just ahead of rival Mark De La Mare. Wayne Piercey cruised to the Veteran 40 title with most of his category rivals not racing, taking seventeenth in the race overall.

Jamy Petit-Fulgoni crashed early and was unable to continue on a damaged bike, but had already secured the Female Senior series win. Franke Middleton and Maria Blatchford took Veteran 40 and 50 honours respectively. Amy Smith made it a great day for the Smith family wrapping up the Youth Female series title despite losing out to sister Holly in the race.

Glen Irven took the Veteran 50 overall title after a tight battle with Darcy Brimson in the final two rounds. Top Youth Bailey Smalldon won the MTB race category, along with the overall title, with his main rivals chasing him all morning. Emile Le Compte won the race for Junior honours with 15th overall.

Guernsey Velo Club Development Officer Paul De Garis said: "The club are extremely grateful to Blanchelande College for allowing the race to take place and we look forward to returning in the future, hopefully next season".

The club is now looking forward to the road season and the continuation of the Mountain Bike winter series this weekend.

Full results and upcoming events can be found at

Sign up to newsletter



Comments on this story express the views of the commentator only, not Bailiwick Publishing. We are unable to guarantee the accuracy of any of those comments.

You have landed on the Bailiwick Express website, however it appears you are based in . Would you like to stay on the site, or visit the site?