Thursday 12 December 2019
Select a region

Islanders Associations members quit committee

Islanders Associations members quit committee

Monday 22 October 2018

Islanders Associations members quit committee

The Executive Committee of the Islanders Association is somewhat depleted after five of the seven strong team announced their resignations.

In a letter on Islanders Association headed paper, Chairman Harvey Marshall confirmed that he and Founder Members, Deputies Peter Ferbrache and Joe Mooney, had all resigned from the group's committee.


Pictured: Part of the statement issued this afternoon to the media. 

These three committee resignations followed the resignation from the Committee last week of Anne Ewing, who had joined the Committee to work on compliance and secretarial matters. Jeff Whitaker, who had joined the Committee to assist with IT matters, had also previously resigned. 

Deputies Ferbrache, Mooney and Mr Marshall are all believed to have resigned over "differences of administrative style amongst some members of the Committee."

Mr Marshall, said: “We are pleased and proud of having successfully campaigned on behalf of the Islanders Association in support of Option A, pure Island-Wide Voting, in the recent Referendum on Guernsey’s electoral system. We see this milestone as the necessary first step towards achieving a more economically efficient, lest wasteful, less dilatory and more businesslike system of government for Guernsey. We expect that these will continue to be the objectives of the Islanders Association.

“All of us strongly support these objectives, and intend to remain Members of the Association, to signify this support. However, having remained in office in order to help guide the Referendum campaign, we now have to consider the future course for the Association. In doing so we have come to the conclusion that, whilst we are, ourselves, united in co-operation as to the way forward, we will not be able to progress the management of the Association as we would wish with the Committee in its present form. We have therefore, regretfully, decided that the only solution is for us to step down from the Committee.”

Deputies Carl Meerveld and Marc Leadbeater are still believed to be on the Executive Committee of the Islanders Association.

Other Islanders Association members as reported on the website include Deputies John Gollop and Barry Paint and Alderney States Member Louis Jean. 

Pictured top: The original three members of the Islanders Association.


Sign up to newsletter


Watch out for Prince Albert!


Once your comment has been submitted, it won’t appear immediately. There is no need to submit it more than once. Comments are published at the discretion of Bailiwick Publishing, and will include your username.

There are no comments for this article.

To place a comment please login

You have landed on the Bailiwick Express website, however it appears you are based in . Would you like to stay on the site, or visit the site?