Sunday 26 June 2022
Select a region

Motor skills students rewarded for drive and dedication

Motor skills students rewarded for drive and dedication

Tuesday 11 May 2021

Motor skills students rewarded for drive and dedication

Tuesday 11 May 2021

The College of Further Education has celebrated the achievements of its Motor Vehicle Apprenticeship students at the annual GMTA awards.

The Guernsey Motor Trades Association awards event, hosted this year by Paul's Motors, saw talented apprentices rewarded for their hard work and dedication to their trade.

Each year, one student from each year group is presented with a trophy and a tool voucher to the value of £100, which are sponsored by members of the GMTA. 

This year's winners were:

  • Bailey Foss (first year student working at States Works) – winner of the Guernsey Auto & Electrical Supply Co Ltd Trophy

  • Bailey Gill (second year student working at BG Automotive) – winner of Paul’s Motors Ltd Trophy

  • David Brewin (third year student working at States Works) – winner of Rabey’s Trophy

  • Levi Turian (fourth year student working at Paul’s Motors) – winner of Doyle Motors Trophy

The quartet were selected by College Tutors Ian Tulie and James Wallis for having demonstrated the most significant progress and development over the past academic year. 

"Our Motor Vehicle Apprenticeship programme continues to evolve following consultation with employers, to ensure we are able to give apprentices the knowledge and skills relevant to today’s industry," said Chris Torode, Director of Apprenticeships.

The course now includes modules on hybrid and electric vehicles as their popularity continues to grow, making sure the programme keeps pace with industry trends. 

"I would like to thank the GMTA and the award sponsors for their continued support and to congratulate all of the winners for their fantastic achievements," he added. 

Pictured top: Back row left to right: Mark Montgomery (Rabey’s Garage), Scott Webb (Guernsey Auto Elec).  Andrew Sparks (Doyle Motors), Carl Le Page (Paul’s Motors) and Robert Cornelius (Forest Road Garage and President of GMTA) who presented the awards. 

Front row left to right: Winning students - David Brewin, Bailey Foss, Bailey Gill and Levi Turian. 

Sign up to newsletter



Once your comment has been submitted, it won’t appear immediately. There is no need to submit it more than once. Comments are published at the discretion of Bailiwick Publishing, and will include your username.

There are no comments for this article.

To place a comment please login

You have landed on the Bailiwick Express website, however it appears you are based in . Would you like to stay on the site, or visit the site?