Wednesday 27 September 2023
Select a region

High standards from young writers in competition

High standards from young writers in competition

Wednesday 24 May 2023

High standards from young writers in competition

Wednesday 24 May 2023

883 Bailiwick pupils from 26 different schools submitted short nature stories, making this year’s WriteStuff competition the most popular yet.

The competition, part of the Guernsey Literary Festival, is open to all Bailiwick students and this year invited them to produce an original 300 word story about the natural world.

Winners across four categories based on ability and age were announced at an awards event during the Festival, with those stories also read out by the UK-based judges. 

This year’s Primary winner was Sybil Henderson from Notre Dame, the Intermediate winner was Sienna Wallen of Ladies College and the Senior winner was Jake Taylor of Elizabeth College. Winners in the SEND category were Jake Donaldson and Dylan Robilliard.

The judges for the competition were acclaimed writers, M G Leonard, Children’s Laureate Joseph Coelho, Sita Brahmachari and Huw Lewis-Jones, all of whom came to the island to take part in the Festival and present the awards

The stories were assessed on creativity, clarity, style and accuracy of language. 

The winners received a cash prize, certificate, and an illustration created by local illustrator James De La Rue. There was also a trophy for the first in each class.

les cotils website

Pictured: Entrants attended an award ceremony at Les Cotils during the Festival.

Education President, Deputy Andrea Dudley-Owen watched as the winners were announced. Later she paid tribute to the creativity and imagination of the entrants, as well as the island’s teachers for nurturing the competition.

She labeled the Festival a “significant annual event” in the local calendar. 

Festival Honorary Chairman, Terry Waite also spoke about the importance of encouraging young people’s imaginations. It was important for the young to tell their stories, and not live their lives “with their song still in them”.

The Guernsey Literary Festival thanked Julius Baer for “once again” sponsoring the annual event. 

The full results

Primary, judged by M G Leonard

1, Sybil Henderson (Year 3, Notre Dame) – Our Planet’s Lungs

2, Genevieve Driver (Year 5, Notre Dame) – Ivy and Stripe

3, Annabelle Shires (Year 6, Beechwood) – The Land of the Long Cloud


Highly commended

Jacinta Ozanne (Year 3, Notre Dame) – The Ferocious Tiger

Solomon Bearder (Year 5, Hautes Capelles) – The Sunken Village

Noah Le Noury (Year 4, Blanchelande) – The Battle for the Island

Hugo Gouveia (Year 4, Notre Dame) My Adventure in the Amazon Rainforest


Intermediate, judge by Joseph Coelho

1, Sienna Wallen (Year 7, Ladies College) – the Greenhouse

2, Herbie Stow (Year 9, Elizabeth College) – Small Fragile World

3, Annabelle Smith (Year 8, Ladies College) – Drifting


Highly commended

Amelie Rodliffe (Year 7, Ladies College) – My Perch

Noah Nicolle (Year 8, Elizabeth College) – The King of the Forest

James Robinson (Year 9, Elizabeth College) – Desert

Gabriel Bachman (Year 7, Elizabeth College) – My Peruvian Adventure

Erin Cullwick (Year 7, Elizabeth College) – The Final Orangutan

Senior, judged by Sita Brahmachari

1, Jake Taylor (Elizabeth College) – Trapped

2, Lily Strappini (Les Beaucamps High) – The Girl and Her Tree

3, Sam Savory (Elizabeth College) – My Escape


Highly Commended

Barney Paxton (Elizabeth College) – Hidden Away

Sommchai Blondin (St Sampson’s High) – Carrion

Jasmine Lockwood (Ladies College) – Wonder

Barton Wilkes (Elizabeth College) – A Lost World

Ralph Humphries (Elizabeth College) – Future


SEND category judged by Huw Lewis-Jones

Primary SEND winner

Jake Donaldson (Le Rondin) -- Luke and the Street Clean Crew

Highly commended

Fletch O’Hara (Forest) – Stormy Day


Secondary SEND winner

Dylan Robilliard (Le Murier) – Toasty and the Buzzard

Highly Commended

Charlie Mauger-Crowson ( Le Murier) – Why is Barry a Grizzly Bear?

Pictured (top): Front row L-R: Judges Huw Lewis-Jones, M G Leonard, Sita Bramachari and Joseph Coelho. Jean-Luc Le Tocq of sponsors Julius Baer is back left.

Sign up to newsletter



Once your comment has been submitted, it won’t appear immediately. There is no need to submit it more than once. Comments are published at the discretion of Bailiwick Publishing, and will include your username.

There are no comments for this article.

To place a comment please login

You have landed on the Bailiwick Express website, however it appears you are based in . Would you like to stay on the site, or visit the site?